Five great “How I Work” profiles at Lifehacker

lifehackerstackIt’s no secret that we read a lot of Lifehacker here at Apps on Tap, but this is one of our favorite sections: How I Work.

Much like our My Five column, the folks at lh interview some of the most interesting people in the world about their work habits, favorite apps (or total rejection thereof) and more. Here are a few we think you might enjoy.

Wharton MBA grads and Warby Parker founders Dave Gilboa and Neil Blumenthal lay out their blueprint for daily success. Neil’s hidden talents? “Ordering in Chinese food and giving motivational speeches. These skills do not necessarily correlate, but I can do both at the same time if necessary.”

Pamela Fox, Product Engineer at Coursera codes on a MacBook Pro, works “stealthily” and loves her Mighty Wallet. Hidden talent? “I’m really good at Googling. Even at Google, amongst Googlers, I could Google better than the Googliest of them.”

Chris Kimball, Founder of America’s Test Kitchen is a Mac/iPhone guy, knows from fluffy pancakes, and owns a pork chop costume. Really. Most unusual productivity tip? “Have over 4,000 unopened emails. Ignoring email saves a lot of time.”

Phil Libin, CEO of Evernote, actually uses his own app, has a messy desk, and plays Minecraft to relax. Just one of many great revelations: “When I’m working at home, I play The Hobbit dwarves humming Misty Mountain Cold over and over and over again on my Sonos speakers until my wife tells me that I have a serious problem.”

ZocDoc CEO Cyrus Massoumi has an “immaculate” desk, a Livescribe pen and skips shaving every few days to save time. On travel: “…I sort of make a personal game out of it—like I’m playing Frogger, airport edition.”

Choosing only five profiles was incredibly tough. More profiles include Maria Popova of Brain Pickings, Cory Doctorow and Marc Frauenfelder of BoingBoing (and other happy mutant things), the founder of Lifehacker, the manager of Reddit, the founder of TaskRabbit… so many. So so many. Go. Read.

Recently from Apps On Tap…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

